top of page


Brothers Oliver and Owen Rowe have always been a force when their names appear in a line up, but this summer the two have taken their surfing to another level.

Competing in the Sun Diego Am Slam summer series, the pair have combined to take the win in 5 of the 6 titles in their respective divisions.

In event number three at the San Clemente Pier, younger brother Owen made it a perfect 3 for 3 on the season in the 11 and under division, while Oliver won the 14 and under for the second time in three tries. His only loss was a second-place result in week 2.

Owen (L) and Oliver (R)/photo courtesy Rowe family.

Oliver is tops in the 14U with 2860 points followed by Ty Shaver (2218), Isaiah Wheyland (2010), Luke Godinez (1808) and Nico Panichella (1720)

"What has been working well for me in these events is I haven't been stressing, I'm just going out and having fun," Oliver said. " I've been working on getting a little more aggressive in the water so I can get busier in heats and have the most opportunities to get the best waves,"

Owen leads the overall rankings in the 11U with 3000 points and is followed by Mason Moschopoulos (2200), A J Iredell (1895), Matt Zelhart (1538) and Vaun Harrison (1530)

"I just been free surfing. I'm not thinking about how I need to surf, I'm just feeling free to surf," said Owen. " I'm not thinking of it as a contest. I'm working on my personality in the water and just having fun."

In the latest event, Owen edged out Mason Moschopoulos for the win. They were followed by Estorya Martinez (3rd), AJ Iredell (4th), Greyson Rodriguiez (5th) and Matt Zelhart (6th).

Oliver got his win over runner up Shane Kinander, Ty Shaver (3rd), Isaiah Wheyland (4th), Cruz Fry (5ht) and Luke Godinez (6th).

Pro Am

Brazil's Ed Groggia, in town for the WSL US Open, took the title and the $2,000 first prize when he dropped scores of 8.33 and 7.33 for a winning heat total of 15.66. Encinitas surfer Levi Slawson was close behind with a 14.53 total for second. Deivid Silva and Lucas Silveira finished 3rd and 4th respectively.

On the season, Lucas Owston leads with 2005 points, followed by Alcides Neto (1875), Alex Lima (1836), Victor Bernardo (1610) and David O'Keefe (1545).

Mens 15 and over

Kyan Yang took his first title of the summer, holding off Dane Libby. It was the first finals appearance for each of the summer. Rounding out the finalists were Pedro Todaro, Shota Ito, Tim Fandey and Oliver Rowe.

Through three events, Shane McNulty leads the way with 1920 points. Rounding out the top 5 are Tommy Granger (1611), Sutton Tudor (1559), Yang (1488) and Yago Ramos (1488).

Womens Longboard

Sofia Todd took her first win of the season, topping two-time winner Star D'Elia in the finals. D'Elia was attempting to three-peat but fell just short.

D'Elia does lead the summer standings with 2860 points ahead of Annabelle Tihanyi (2053), Todd (1730), Lena Santoro (1313) and Lili Christenson and Mara Morales both with (1280).

Womens Shortboard

Mara Morales won for the second time in three events claiming the title in back-to-back weeks.

Morales topped Estorya Martinez and Hana Johnson who finished second and third respectively.

She also leads the rankings with one event left with 2730 points ahead of Victoria Duprat (1730). Annabelle Tihanyi (1610) and Maddy Moschopoulos (1480).

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page